The role of folic acid

Discussion in 'Trying To Conceive' started by remnant, Jan 9, 2018.

1. remnant

remnant Member

Mothers who are planning conception should increase their intake of folic acid. Apart from being a component of blood cells, it prevents neural tube defects, cleft lip and cleft palate, congenital disorders that are likely to afflict the unborn. It should be taken optimally for one month before conception.

Elsa likes this.
  2. Holmes22

Holmes22 Active Member

Well I was really unaware of that, although I will say that I have seen folic acid be prescribed for a lot of different things so I am not really sure if it is specific to that. I am far from a doctor though.

3. amitkokiladitya

amitkokiladitya Active Member

Folic acid is the first drug which is prescribed to any women who is preparing to get pregnant. It has multiple benefits most of which have been prescribed above. In addition to these, it also helps the uterus to prepare for adapting for the foetus.

Elsa likes this.
  4. Elsa

Elsa Starlight Baby Employee Staff Member

5. amitkokiladitya

amitkokiladitya Active Member

Thanks a lot for the link. Many people justify that in older times women gave birth to a child without even taking a single medication. So why to start taking medicines from the very onset of pregnancy? The answer to this is simply that taking folic acid will definitely cause no damage to your body. On the contrary, it will prevent the occurrence of any kind of damage in the future. Keeping into consideration the onset of so-called precious pregnancies, changed lifestyle and eating habits it is wise to stay safe rather than to be exposed to any risk.

Elsa likes this.
  6. Elsa

Elsa Starlight Baby Employee Staff Member

So true!!! My thoughts exactly :)

7. littlewitch66

littlewitch66 Active Member